Showing posts with label celebrity. Show all posts
Showing posts with label celebrity. Show all posts

Wednesday, May 25, 2011

response: Kim Kardashian hate: justified or not?

In response... 
First, let me start off by saying that I love Kim Kardashian. It has nothing to do with her vagina, where it’s been, who she has given it too, or who has racked up their number on the visitor counter. My love for her has less to do with what might be perceived as her residual desperation and continuous poor decision-making and more to do with her fashion sense and her undeniable girlishness. She is all woman with obvious insecurities, flaws, ups and downs…blah blah blah. She is undeniably human and is a victim to an even greater degree of the molding that prematurely stales most women of our time.
Secondly, just as a general reminder, I ask that we bear in mind that her engagement to Fugly himself has little to no effect on our lives whatsoever. (Note: MOST women are with men that are far less appealing physically than they are). Also, if it bothers you that much, turn your mothereffing television off and go exercise. K? Moving on…
I wholeheartedly agree that some of the backlash on this topic comes from women who feel women “like” Kim should not be given the chance at marriage when it is “so obvious” that she doesn’t deserve it. I can completely understand this side of the coin because as has been proven by my own personal experience and that of several women across the globe, sometimes you can be everything pure to a man and he still won’t give an ounce of a shit about being faithful to you or putting a ring on your finger. The scorned women trials are in. However, I also completely agree that as much time as women spend attempting to cultivate what they “think” is ideal for a man…the same, if not more time can be spent on just doing whatever the fuck they want: as a woman, as a person,  and as a living being. Women are too often forced and trained to adhere to societal (AKA masculine) concepts about what a woman should be, say, and do. Dear women of the world, pandemic subservience died with your grandmothers.
The one thing I can grant extensive credit to Kim for is that she has no problem publicly admitting that she really expected to have a family by now. She has no problem airing out her own dirty laundry. If she is OK with it…then why the fuck are any of us losing sleep? Anyone out here acting as though they never filmed themselves with a lover, took naughty pictures, sold themselves short in a relationship, or in some way put themselves out there in a less than ideal and extremely vulnerable situation has not taken a shit for months.
In addition, I think we tend to forget that Kim, in a lot of ways, is just like the shorty sitting next to us on the train…the only difference is that the shorty sitting on the train does not have a magnifying glass on her life. It is easier to criticize someone or something that we feel has way more attention that they/it warrants because we are always hearing about them/it…….but the last time I checked…the very reason people are even famous in this country is because WE blow up their heads. I mean, are we or are we NOT the ones paying $400 for Lady Gaga concert tickets? Buying up copies of US and People? Butting heads with people in the club to get pictures at celeb appearances?  
At the end of the day Kim is just an average betch that had plastic surgery and wakes up in the morning to put her face on…like so many other women out here and we…are enablers.
If we are so concerned about what we deserve and what we should have we sure as hell don’t act like with all of the meddling we do in other people’s lives. As Greg so delicately put it, “Step your personality game up to the level of your work ethic and stop being worried about another woman and her lifestyle.”
On the flip side…while a lot of women are indeed superficial I’d argue that this is often synonymous with a man dictating that he only wants a woman with a big ass, big breasts, a tongue piercing, or an ever elastic vagina. Men are visual, women are not…so much. This is not to say that we don’t appreciate a man with a six pack but we are not basing our decision of whether or not to get married on whether a man will be able to sustain that 6 pack for the next 100 years. Just saying…if you want me to birth your 3 children, keep my body tight, clean everything, cook perfectly, and sex you at least 5 times a week despite being tired…yep, I want a fucking 30 pound diamond and half of your 7 figure salary. There are some things I’ll do for love, sure…but wearing myself down for your selfish needs is not one of them. Women have to exhaust more to maintain themselves physically than men do but men are more visually stimulated. If your expectations are ridiculously high then why can’t mine be also?

DISCLAIMER: Pardon the use of hyperbole and explicit language. Shrugs. Swag walk.

Monday, March 1, 2010

i vant ta be a celebritayy

"Before you graduate please define success for yourself. If you don't you will get caught up with what success means for the rest of the world."


I keep her words near and dear to my heart…but I’ve never fully listened to them. When touching upon the impending sorrow most college grads feel upon being hung from a helicopter and dropped into an ice cold bucket of real life, I think my soror said it best.
I have recently become rather infatuated with celebrities, one in particular whom I will not name (Kim Kardashian), but only insofar as they are deemed superhuman. Now my most loyal readers already know that I consider myself irresistibly philosophical and given this there would be absolutely no reason why the eminence of seemingly normal people wouldn't be intriguing to me. I find it incredible that all it takes for un-famous people to second guess themselves is to see a celebrity who enjoys attention, accolades, neverending access to the world, and money. I realize that by implying that celebs aren’t the only ones that can be looked up to I am echoing the archaic ideal of teachers and doctors being recognized more (which really means being paid more).

Many may have realized this before but my epiphany is something which I really do pray helps me get over my obsession. We are the reason celebrities are the way they are. If there was no paparazzi, no cameras, no multi-million dollar salaries, no gossip sites/magazines/tabloids, and no envy...celebrities would cease to exist as the fuel to young aspiration that they are now. They are normal human beings in all ways. They get tired, they have bad hair days, they get pimples, they think about how they are getting old and must do something worthwhile. They overwork and underdeliver and sometimes the opposite. Although they seem to float carelessly thru life, they are forced to hide their humanness because somehow we've tagged 'impenetrable' onto the definition of 'celebrity'. If we weren’t in their faces all the time they wouldn’t feel it necessary to be on their A-game all the time. The only reason they are special and we compare ourselves to them is because they make drastically more money than a substantial part of the globe.

Celebrities look/are perfect because of money. If impoverished and middle-class people had enough money, they would look airbrushed all the time too. They would endorse products and lose weight at lightning speed and donate $1 million to Haiti Earthquake Relief. I never really thought of money as an enabler in this way and I know it sounds trite but money is really the only way to substantiate the label of celebrity. Well, duh. The substantiation of the celebrity label also shows in what types of work we think are deserving of mass sums of money. I do thought experiments on the regular (to determine level of possibility) and my current relish comes in the form of picturing how the world would be if we started ignoring celebs...also known as treating them and their human faults as human. Would Hollywood writher up and sink beneath the ocean?

When my soror elaborated her point she went on to say the once out of school you come into contact with a variety of people. She said she met people in their 40s who made less money/year than she did and they were struggling. She met people who hadn't even hit their 20s yet and they made millions a year, they were set for life. But what do we mean when we say "set for life"...you can buy whatever you want? or you can buy whatever you need? Both? Aren’t all people deserving of enough money to buy what they want/need? No, I am not communist.

So, given what my soror so brilliantly relayed to me it's quite unnatural for people to view their success outside of their financial standing and by what age they attain such financial standing. Money buys any and everything if you have enough of it. I don't know that I have a personalized answer for the question of whether money buys happiness. Is success seen as the attainment of a large sum of money in whatever one’s field/passion is? Some might say it’s the amount of change you can inflict with your passion but others might say money is needed in order to fully and freely pursue one’s passion. I have not figured out my definition of success yet.

I find myself wishing I had enough money to just be able to dabble in whatever I wished. I don’t really know what I’m good at or where my passions could lead me. It only makes sense that I would aspire to make as much money as possible as quickly as possible so that I could then use the money to try a whole bunch of shit and see what makes me happy!